World of Warcraft: Cataclysm Classic - All Starting Zones, Ranked

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm brought a wave of changes to Azeroth, reshaping the world and introducing new zones, quests, and races. While much attention has been given to the new level 80 to 85 zones, the starting zones also underwent significant transformations. With the introduction of Goblins and Worgen, as well as the revamping of existing areas, the starting zones offer fresh experiences for both new and returning players. Here, we rank all the starting zones in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm Classic, from the most engaging to the least remarkable.

1. Gilneas (Worgen)

The starting zone for the Worgen is a masterpiece of atmosphere and storytelling. Set in the gloomy, Victorian-inspired city of Gilneas, this zone immerses players in a tale of civil strife, werewolf curses, and desperate battles. The dark, moody environment perfectly complements the Worgen’s lore, and the quests are engaging and varied. From fighting off the Forsaken to dealing with the internal conflicts of Gilneas, players are constantly thrown into action. The transformation sequences and the eventual escape from Gilneas are memorable highlights, making this starting zone one of the best in the game.

2. Kezan (Goblins)

Kezan, the starting zone for Goblins, is a delightful blend of humor, chaos, and explosive action. Players start as employees of the Bilgewater Cartel, navigating through the quirky and dangerous city of Kezan. The quests are filled with Goblin ingenuity and absurdity, such as participating in a party, dealing with rival gangs, and even escaping an erupting volcano. The transition from Kezan to the Lost Isles, where players must survive and adapt, adds an exciting twist to  WoW Cataclysm Classic Gold  the story. The Goblin starting experience is a rollercoaster ride of fun and mayhem, making it a standout zone in Cataclysm Classic.

3. Elwynn Forest (Humans)

Elwynn Forest, the starting zone for Humans, retains its classic charm while receiving subtle enhancements in Cataclysm Classic. The picturesque, tranquil setting of the forest remains unchanged, offering a nostalgic journey for veteran players. The quests are straightforward and serve as an excellent introduction to the game’s mechanics and lore. The addition of minor story elements and improved quest flow ensures that new players are engaged without feeling overwhelmed. The iconic moments, such as battling the Defias Brotherhood and exploring Northshire Abbey, remain timeless, making Elwynn Forest a beloved starting zone.

4. Durotar (Orcs)

Durotar, the rugged starting zone for Orcs, continues to evoke a sense of harsh survival and tribal honor. The windswept valley in southern Durotar remains largely unchanged since its original design in 2004, maintaining its raw and unforgiving landscape. With the Trolls now starting in the Echo Isles, there is more space for Orc players to explore. The quests focus on proving one’s strength, battling local threats, and earning the respect of the Orcish clans. The addition of a flight path at Sen'jin Village improves connectivity to Orgrimmar, making travel more convenient. Durotar’s unyielding environment and strong thematic elements ensure it remains a compelling starting zone.

5. Teldrassil (Night Elves)

Teldrassil, the starting zone for Night Elves, is a breathtakingly beautiful and serene area that introduces players to the mystical world of the Kaldorei. The giant tree that houses the zone provides a unique and enchanting environment. The quests in Teldrassil emphasize the Night Elves' connection to nature and their ongoing struggle against corruption and invaders. The storyline involving the furbolgs and the ancient protectors adds depth to the experience. While Teldrassil has seen minor updates in Cataclysm Classic, its core charm and beauty remain intact, making it a captivating starting zone for new Night Elf players.

6. Eversong Woods (Blood Elves)

Eversong Woods, the starting zone for Blood Elves, offers a vibrant and magical introduction to the world of Quel'Thalas. The lush forests and stunning architecture reflect the elegance and pride of the Blood Elves. The quests are well-designed, focusing on the Blood Elves' efforts to rebuild their society and combat the lingering effects of the Scourge. Players engage in tasks that highlight the Blood Elves' arcane prowess and their struggle to control their addiction to magic. The zone's visual appeal and engaging questline make Eversong Woods a standout starting area.

7. Mulgore (Tauren)

Mulgore, the starting zone for Tauren, remains a tranquil and spiritually rich area that captures the essence of Tauren culture. The vast plains and rolling hills provide a serene backdrop for the quests, which focus on the Tauren’s connection to the Earth Mother and their tribal traditions. Players help defend the land from encroaching threats, assist in tribal rituals, and hunt for food and supplies. The zone’s peaceful atmosphere and strong cultural themes make it an enjoyable and immersive starting experience for Tauren players.

8. Azuremyst Isle (Draenei)

Azuremyst Isle, the starting zone for Draenei, is a visually striking area that introduces players to the crash-landed Exodar and the Draenei’s struggle to adapt to their new home. The quests focus on the Draenei’s efforts to cheap WoW Cataclysm Classic Gold heal the land, fend off hostile creatures, and establish a foothold in Azeroth. The storyline is rich with themes of survival and redemption, providing a compelling narrative for new Draenei players. The zone’s unique aesthetic and engaging quests make Azuremyst Isle a memorable starting area.

9. Dun Morogh (Dwarves and Gnomes)

Dun Morogh, the snowy starting zone for Dwarves and Gnomes, retains its classic appeal with minor updates in Cataclysm Classic. The zone’s quests focus on the Dwarves' mining operations and the Gnomes' efforts to reclaim Gnomeregan. The frosty landscape and rugged terrain provide a challenging yet rewarding experience. The storyline includes classic elements such as battling Troggs and dealing with the threats from the Frostmane trolls. While Dun Morogh hasn’t changed significantly, its timeless charm and engaging quests continue to make it a solid starting zone.

10. Tirisfal Glades (Undead)

Tirisfal Glades, the eerie starting zone for Undead, remains a haunting and atmospheric area that perfectly suits the Forsaken’s dark narrative. The quests focus on the Forsaken’s efforts to strengthen their position, combat the Scourge remnants, and exact revenge on their enemies. The gloomy, gothic setting and macabre storyline provide a unique and immersive experience. Despite the zone’s minimal changes in Cataclysm Classic, its strong thematic elements and compelling quests make it a standout starting area for Undead players.

11. The Echo Isles (Trolls)

The Echo Isles, the starting zone for Trolls, offers a vibrant and culturally rich environment that celebrates Troll heritage. The quests focus on the Darkspear Trolls’ efforts to establish their presence and defend their land from various threats. The zone’s tropical setting and dynamic quests provide an engaging introduction to Troll lore and gameplay. The addition of new quest hubs and improved quest flow in Cataclysm Classic enhances the overall experience, making the Echo Isles a notable starting zone.


World of Warcraft: Cataclysm Classic has revitalized the starting zones, providing fresh experiences for both new and veteran players. Each zone offers a unique blend of quests, storylines, and environments that reflect the diverse cultures and histories of Azeroth’s races. From the atmospheric streets of Gilneas to the chaotic city of Kezan, each starting area provides a captivating journey that sets the stage for epic adventures in the world of Azeroth.